Skip to content

90-120 Years Ago World Series Winners

March 8, 2023

Some team will win the 2023 World Series, 120 years after the first one, which was won by the Boston Red Sox franchise. (Later this week a post about that one).

Eventually, I will cite all the 5/10 year(s) multiples of “years ago” baseball titles.

In this first “batch of 7, almost all of the World Series contested have been best of 7, however not the above referenced Boston 5 games to 3, best of 9, crown, won vs Pittsburgh in 1903), the Boston and Chicago Cubs teams, eventually to endure respective 86 and 108 year title droughts, won the first two, as the Cubs beat Detroit in 1908.

Next the last of 3 Connie Mack managed Philadelphia Athletics’ crowns in 4 seasons as they beat the New York Giants in the 1913 World Series.

The Red Sox won it all in 1918 beating the Cubs and the Giants took the Washington Senators in 5 games to win the crown ninety years ago in 1933.

In between the New York Yankees won the first and third of their 27 titles, winning vs the Giants in 1923 and sweeping the St. Louis Cardinals in 1928.

The Giants had won the 1921 and 1922 World Series vs the Yankees while the Grover Cleveland Alexander led Cards had won the 1926 World Series in 7 games vs the Yankees, winning the last two games at 4th year Yankee Stadium.

Alexander won #6 and saved #7, not before a Yankees’ great Tony Lazzeri, bid for an extra base hit, before “Old Pete” (Alexander) struck him out with 2 outs and the bases loaded, the Cards clinging to the eventual final score,(3-2) lead.


The great pitcher, Grover Cleveland Alexander, pictured above.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: