Skip to content

Some Thoughts on Baseball Then and Now

November 15, 2013

I am definitely no longer all that interested in individual baseball awards. In 1962, Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda and Tom Davis all had great batting years.

The Dodgers’ Maury Wills stole a then record 104 bases and was 1962 N.L. MVP.

All the talk of “Boston Strong” and how this team (the 2013 Red Sox) banded together is annoying, especially when one considers the horrible decision Jim Leyland made in not having a left handed pitcher face David Ortiz in game two of the ALCS.

If Ortiz is retired or even if he does not homer, it is likely the Red Sox lose not only game two but the ALCS.

I have to realize however, that luck plays a part in most things and as stated here before the Red Sox do deserve credit.

By the way, I have always liked the Red Sox and only feel bad that such great or near great players as Carl Yastrzemski, Dwight Evans, Bill Buckner, Fred Lynn, Jim Rice, and Luis Tiant never even won one title while this decade Red Sox, nowhere near as good, have won thrice.

Twice in a game seven of the World Series, the Red Sox dissipated a (3-0) lead and lost to a great 108 win regular season team.

In 1975 the Cincinnati Reds won it all while in 1986 the 108 win, title team was the New York Mets.

Screen Shot 5023

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: