Skip to content

NHL Playoffs Update

September 28, 2020

Tonight the Tampa Bay Lightning, who won their lone title in a game 7 on a Monday night in 2004, seek a second, as they take a (3-2) series lead into tonight’s game 6, vs the Dallas Stars.

The teams exchanged overtime wins in the “whored out” back to back tilts in games 4 and 5. On Friday night in game 4, the Lightning’s Kevin Shattenkirk won it in the first overtime, while veteran Corey Perry won #5 for the Stars in the second overtime, on Saturday night.

Dallas’ Joe Pavelski tied both tilts, with goals fairly late in regulation time.

In 4 straight games (the Stars’ 3 OT Cup clincher in ’99, the Stars 3 ot win in game 5 2000 vs the Devils, the Devils 2 ot Cup clincher in game 6, 2000 and 2 days ago, the Stars 2 ot (overtime) in #5 this year) in which the Stars (once) or their opponent (thrice) had a chance to “title,” a multiple overtime game ensued.

The Lightning are (0-3) in both games 1 and 5 of the NHL final, (3-0) in #2, (2-1) in games 3 and 4 and (1-1) in #6. All 5 game 6 winners in previous Stars/North Stars or Lightning final round series, won the series, four clinching in game 6.


St. Louis stares into the distance during a game against the Pittsburgh Penguins

Martin St. Louis, pictured above, won game 6 for the eventual champion Lightning in game 6 of the 2004 final at Calgary (Flames).

With “his” team down (3-2), Lightning “analyst,” Phil Esposito, already cited here as a playing great, did not make the trip to Calgary.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: