Skip to content

Washington Title Teams Opening Game Notes

July 24, 2020

Before last season, only one Washington D.C. baseball team had won a World Series.

That team, the Senators, won it all in 1924 and won the pennant in 1925.

They opened their season after the title, as the Nationals did last night, with a loss to the New York Yankees, scoring just one run. That time (1925), the D.C. team was on the road, losing (5-1) at Yankee Stadium.

The ’25 Senators, again as defending champions, also had their home opener vs the Yankees. This time, behind the great pitcher, Walter Johnson, the Senators won (10-1).


Walter Johnson 1924.jpg

Walter Johnson, pictured above.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: