Skip to content

More Supe To (For) Nuts, Notes

February 17, 2019

The sixth Super Bowl victory by the New England Patriots was the 16th for an AFL team, still leaving NFL teams with a significant (37-16) advantage.

However, this ninth Supe victory by an original AFL team in 22 seasons (’97-2018) has cut into what once stood as an NFL advantage of (22-3) over original AFL teams in NFC/AFC configuration Super Bowls.

Among original AFL teams, New England has 6 crowns, all from 2001 forward, the Denver Broncos three, all from 1997 on, while the Raiders with 3 in the NFC/AFC configuration, have not won one since 1983.

Both the New York Jets and the Kansas City Chiefs, winners in the last two AFL/NFL Super Bowls, have failed to even qualify for a Supe in the 49 NFC/AFC configuration seasons.

The Miami Dolphins, a 1966 AFL expansion team, (Joe Auer returned the game’s opening kickoff for a touchdown in their first game. The next season, John Gilliam did so for the NFL expansion team, New Orleans Saints) have won 2 Super Bowls.





From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: