Skip to content

“7” Year NFL Crowns

September 21, 2017

Eight NFL crowns have been gained in years ending in “7.”

Only the Washington Redskins have two such crowns, winning NFL title tilts quarterbacked by rookie and eventual all time great, Sammy Baugh in 1937 and Doug Williams in 1987.

News came on the day of the ’37 title tilt (28-21) Wash win vs the Chicago Bears that former pitcher Rube Benton had died in a car accident.

Benton pitched in two games in the World Series contested 100 years ago.


My readers know I more than “get it” regarding football especially the professionals.

Yet immortals such as Sammy Baugh, pictured above will and should endure, even if the violent, often corrupt game, neither should and perhaps will not.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: