Skip to content

Lightning Do Strike Twice, More Than That For “Champa Bay”

July 7, 2021

Facing elimination just once, (they won that (1-0) and the Cup clincher (1-0) vs Montreal, a 5th straight series clinching shutout for Conn Smythe Trophy winner, Andrei Vasilevskiy) the Tampa Bay Lightning now have 2 straight titles, winning them a record low, just over 9 mos. apart.

The Lightning join the Tom Brady led Tampa Bay Buccaneers,  as current Tampa/Champa Bay champions. 

Ross Colton scored the game’s only goal, taking a pass from David Savard. Colton and Savard are the only first time title winners on the Lightning squad, which by the way, will lose a number of key players in the upcoming off season.

Pat Maroon, who played on his home town St.Louis Blues’ lone title team in ’19 has now played on 3 straight Cup winners, the last 2 with T.B.

Nikita Kucherov, who was less than generous in his comments about Montreal,  is a brilliant player who led the ‘offs in points, without a tie situation for the second straight year. He joins the great Mario Lemieux (for the ’91 and ’92 champion Pittsburgh Penguins) as the only players to do so. 

Brayden Point, who started “all this” with a goal in the 5th overtime vs the Blue Jackets of Columbus (where is Amy, either “Mc” or Winehouse, my ’89 interviews with such as Sandy Koufax and “Dons,” Drysdale and Sutton?!), again led in points during the ‘offs.


Ross Colton hockey player photo



Ross Colton, pictured above.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: