Skip to content

It Will Be Rays/Dodgers In The 60 Game Season World Series

October 19, 2020

The Los Angeles Dodgers, trying to join the NBA Lakers as simultaneous champions for a third time (’81 W.S.-’82 NBA and ’88 NBA followed by ’88 W.S.) will meet the Tampa Bay Rays, who hope to join the NHL Tampa Bay Lightning as simultaneous/same city title holders.

L.A. won the franchise’s 21st pennant with a World Series to follow, (4-3) (4-3), and overcame a (3-1) series deficit in doing so.

Tampa Bay (Rays) will be seeking its first title, in what will be their second World Series appearance. The Dodgers are (6-14) in previous World Series, (1-7) as Brooklyn and (5-7) as Los Angeles.

Only here: “The game 4 indicator,” i.e. the winner of game 4 wins the series, “failed” for just the third time in a combined 27 Dodgers’ LCS and World Series starting in 1955 (the other LCS in which the game 4 winner did not win the series was in ’17 when the Cubs stayed alive in #4 but were 5’d by L.A. the next night).

In World Series play, starting with the Dodgers’ 1955 crown, their lone such accomplishment while in Brooklyn, the game 4 winner of a Dodgers’ W.S. failed to title, also only in 2017, when Houston (Astros) took the crown, though losing game 4.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: