Skip to content

Pats/Rams Titles 50 Years Apart, 1951 and 2001

January 23, 2019

The last L.A. Rams NFL title (they won one as the St. Louis Rams in ’99 to go along with the one they gained in their last year in Cleveland –1945) and first New England Patriots’ such title, occurred 50 years apart, the Rams winning theirs in 1951 and the Pats’ first, taking place in 2001.

Both of those title teams got big post-season contributions from two quarterbacks. Three of the four quarterbacks involved are Hall of Fame or sure to be, players.

In the Rams ’51 title game win vs the defending champion, Cleveland Browns, both Rams’ future “Fame QB’s,” Bob Waterfield and Norm Van Brocklin contributed, as they had all season.

Fifty years later, Pats quarterback Drew Bledsoe was famously injured and replaced by a man named Brady, Tom Brady.

Brady led the Patriots to the AFC Title Game at Pittsburgh vs the Steelers. He was injured in the game and replaced by Bledsoe.

Drew was the winning quarterback that day, among other things contributing a touchdown pass to David Patten.


Troy Brown, pictured above, had a punt return touchdown in the N.E. ’01 Title Game win at Pittsburgh.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: