Skip to content

Clemson “Claims” It, A Second Title In 3 Seasons, Routing Alabama

January 8, 2019

Clemson University won their second college football title in three seasons, routing the defending champion and top ranked Alabama Crimson Tide (44-16) in the title tilt last night.

Freshman quarterback Trevor Lawrence threw 3 touchdown passes, one a shovel pass to Travis Etienne (the star running back also ran for two as he scored all 3 Clemson offensive touchdowns as the Tigers built a (31-16) lead at the half), as Clemson became the first college football team to go (15-0) or better, since Penn also went (15-0), some 121 years ago, in 1897.

Meanwhile the stout Clemson defense led by Christian Wilkins and Trayvon Mullen (he had a key interception and was named the game’s outstanding defensive player)  held Alabama scoreless one minute shy of the last three quarters of play. That stellar feat accomplished against a team averaging 47 points in its first 14 games.

Additionally, the Clemson defense gave the team a 7 point cushion when A.J. Terrell raced 46 yards for a touchdown after intercepting a Tua Tagovailoa pass to open the scoring.

Receivers Justyn Ross and Tee Higgins gathered in the second half Lawrence touchdown passes.

Dabo Swinney won his second crown as Clemson coach, in the process, denying Alabama coach Nick Saban a 7th crown and sixth undisputed one.

Saban remains tied with Paul “Bear” Bryant with 5 Alabama crowns as the two have 10 of the 11 coached Alabama titles.

The other belongs to Gene Stallings (1992), who encouraged Swinney, he of the rather long, “allowed” post-game “spiel” and player on that ’92 team, to get into coaching.

Only the ’17 season title, among the eleven Alabama crowns came with a Republican as a United States President. The ’92 title was won 19 days before then President elect, W.J. Clinton replaced G.H.W. Bush in that office.

Another Clemson defensive standout was Clelin Ferrell.

The lower seeded team has won all 5 college playoff title tilts, the underdog, which includes Clemson twice vs Alabama, three times.

Said underdog has at least covered the spread, which includes all 3 title tilts between Clemson and Alabama, in all 5 such games.


Trevor Lawrence, pictured above joins Oklahoma’s Jamelle Holieway (1985), as the only true freshman quarterbacks to start in and lead their teams to national title winning games.

Meanwhile much credit goes to Clemson defensive coordinator, Brent Venables for this title.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: