Skip to content

LCS Notes

October 12, 2018

Tonight the 49th LCS commence with a National League game 1 between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Milwaukee Brewers. Tomorrow afternoon, those teams play game 2 while tomorrow night, Boston (Red Sox) hosts the Houston Astros in game 1 of their ALCS.

Houston defeated Los Angeles in 7 games to win last year’s World Series.

This is just the fifth time in 49 possibilities (LCS play began in 1969 and there was no post-season baseball in 1994), that both of the previous season’s World Series participants have advanced as far as the LCS/baseball semi-finals.

The other times were 1973 (Oakland A’s and Cincinnati Reds), 1978 (New York Yankees and Los Angeles Dodgers), 1993 (Toronto Blue Jays and Atlanta Braves) and 2010 (New York Yankees and Philadelphia Phillies).

Above in parenthesis, I listed the previous year’s winning World Series teams (I will do so again the A’s, Yankees, Blue Jays, and Yankees).

Three of those teams the ’73 A’s, ’78 Yankees (vs the Dodgers again) and ’93 Blue Jays repeated as World Series winners. In ’10 both the Yankees and Phillies lost in the NLCS. In ’73 the Reds lost in the NLCS as did the Braves in ’93.


The Yankees have won the World Series 5 times in years ending in “8.” They did so in 1928,1938,1958,1978 and 1998.

In ’58 Bob Turley’s brilliant pitching denied a then Milwaukee team, the Braves, a second straight crown.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: