Skip to content

Boston Celtics’ Notes

September 6, 2018

In 1976 the Boston Celtics won their 13th crown, all in a 20 season span from (1957-1976).

Their ’08 Celtics’ title was their 17th one more than the Lakers even if you count the 5 Minneapolis Lakers’ titles, but their only one in the last 31 (31 worn by Cedric Maxwell, who was an integral part of the first two Larry Bird title teams in ’81 and ’84) completed seasons (1987-2017).

Before that, the Celts won a third crown with the great Bird, (I told a not surprised Frank Robinson the news at Yankee Stadium that day) in 1986. At that point they had won an incredible 40 percent of all the NBA titles, 16 in 40 seasons (1947-1986).

The Celts won all 16 of those titles in a 30 season span (1957-1986) but  just one in the last 32 completed seasons.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: