Skip to content

Supe to Nuts (i.e. of this esoteric stuff) Notes

January 29, 2018


On Sunday, six days hence, the four plus point underdog Philadelphia Eagles hope to make it just the third time in history, that in the same year/season a first time champion defeats a previous champion for both the major league baseball and the NFL Super Bowl crown. (The Eagles won 3 NFL crowns before the Super Bowl commenced in the 1966 season).

The two times it happened, were in consecutive years/seasons 2001 and 2002 when in baseball, the Arizona Diamondbacks and then the next season, the Angels were first time Fall Classic winners defeating respectively, the 26 time champion Yankees and the 5 time champion, Giants.

Those same 2001 and 2002 seasons manifested in first time Super Bowl winners, the New England Patriots (whatever became of them?!) and Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeating previous Supe winners, the St.Louis Rams and Oakland Raiders respectively, to win the big prize.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: