Skip to content

Baseball Notes

April 15, 2017

During the past week, the Pittsburgh Pirates played on consecutive days, first in Fenway Park in Boston and then at Wrigley Field in Chicago.

This evoked thoughts of the long title droughts endured by the home teams of those venerable ballparks, the Boston Red Sox and Chicago Cubs.

However, those droughts are over, the Red Sox ending an 86 year title drought by winning the 2004 World Series.

Subsequently, they won it all in 2007 and again in 2013.

Meanwhile the Cubs ended their 108 year title drought by winning it all last year.

The team the Cubs beat to win the title, the Cleveland Indians, now have the longest title drought, having not won it all since 1948.

Guess which original 16 baseball team has the next longest title drought, you guessed it, the Pittsburgh Pirates, having not won the World Series since Wilver Stargell led their 1979 crown.


Willie Stargell had a great career, highlighted by his great performance in the 1979 World Series.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: