Skip to content

NFL Division Super Bowl Notes

February 25, 2017

Another manifestation of the recent Super Bowl result is that the NFC South remains the only NFL division in which none of its four inhabitants has both won AND lost a Super Bowl.

Both the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in ’02 and the New Orleans Saints in ’09 won in their only Supe appearances.

Two other expansion teams, the Atlanta Falcons (’98 and ’16) and the Carolina Panthers (’03 and ’15) lost in both their Supe appearances, each losing once to the Denver Broncos and New England Patriots.

The other seven NFL divisions house at least one team that has both won and lost a Super Bowl game.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: