Skip to content

Electoral College “Trumps” The Popular Vote

November 10, 2016

For the second time in the last five presidential elections, a presidential candidate has gained the White House without winning the popular vote.

The National League/Democrat, American League/Republican stat took a bit of a hit as Republican Donald J.Trump won the presidency in a year the National League Cubs won the World Series.

Many thought the Cubs winning would be a better sign for Hillary Rodham Clinton, an Illinois native but first of all it was not and next I learned the Cubs’ owners, the Ricketts family, were big donors on Mr. Trump’s behalf.

The 7th game N.L./ Democrat, A.L. Republican took its first official “loss, after 8 wins. The lone near “loss” was in 1912, the first instance of a 7th game of the world in a presidential election year.

The American League Red Sox won and Democratic candidate Woodrow Wilson gained the White House after a 4 games to 3 Red Sox/A.L. triumph. However, one game was declared a tie hence the series is considered an 8 game series.

For the record in 1924, 1940, 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968, 1972, the correlation held thus the Donald Trump/Republican victory in a year in which the N.L. Cubs won the title in 7 games, was/is a first.








From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: