Skip to content

Cleveland World Series Notes

November 8, 2016

After winning their first two World Series in 1920 and 1948, Cleveland has now lost 4 straight baseball/finals.

This was the third straight time they lost by one run in the game in which they were eliminated, a second straight time in a tough if not excruciating 7th game World Series loss.

Though the World Series result was again gruesome for Cleveland, no player named Grissom was involved as had been the case in the previous three Cleveland World Series those transpiring in 1954, 1995 and 1997.

In the 1954 “Classic,” Marv Grissom of the New York Giants arrived on the scene after Willie Mays’ great catch and even better throw kept game 1 tied (2-2). He hurled 2 and two thirds innings of one hit ball, twice escaping man on third with one out situations, one inherited, the other with him pitching the entire inning.

Marquis Grissom with the Atlanta Braves, caught the last out of the 1995 World Series as the Atlanta Braves won the title in game 6 by a (1-0) score.

When the Cleveland team lost a heartbreaking game 7 (3-2) to the Florida Marlins in 1997, Marquis Grissom was a member and starting player on their team.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: