Skip to content

A.L. Central Update

September 12, 2016

The 2016 major league baseball season has less than 3 weeks to go and it appears the Cleveland Indians will win their eighth, “one eighth” division, (all A.L. Central) crown.

In 25 seasons of one quarter division play from (1969-1993), Cleveland failed to win any division titles.

Cleveland won 2 of 3 over the past weekend at Minnesota (winning Friday night and yesterday afternoon) while the A.L. Central second place, Detroit Tigers lost two of three games at home vs the Baltimore Orioles, manifesting in a seven game Cleveland divisional lead at this time.

Evoking some Minnesota Twins’ history as they suffer through a horrible season, in 1984 they lost a crushing Friday night game to the Indians that hurt them as they bid for the A.L. West crown which eventually went to the Kansas City Royals.

However, en route to a glorious World Series title in 1987, the Twins virtually 29 years ago on a Friday night had a great win vs the Indians.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: