Skip to content

More New York Yankees’ Consecutive Pennant Notes

August 23, 2016

The New York Yankees also won as many as three consecutive American League Pennants four other times in addition to the three times cited during the incredible 14 pennants in 16 seasons run from (1949-1964).

Those occasions were (1926-1928), (1936-1939), (1976-1978) and (1998-2000).

A pair of “Joes” McCarthy and Torre guided them to not only consecutive pennants, but World Series wins from (1936-1939) and (1998-2000) respectively.

While McCarthy managed 4 straight World Series winners, topping Torre whose 2001 Yankees were denied a 4th straight when the Arizona Diamondbacks, getting a too often forgotten, key hit from Tony Womack rallied in the last inning, one Yankees’ manager won 5 straight World Series. His name is Casey Stengel.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: