Skip to content

Cleveland Sports Title History Part 2

August 7, 2016

The Cleveland Browns won the NFL title in their first year in the NFL, riding Lou Groza’s short but beyond clutch field goal to victory vs the Los Angeles Rams (imagine play will begin this NFL season with teams called the Los Angeles Rams and Cleveland Browns in place for the first time since 1991) in 1950.

They lost three straight NFL title games, something matched by later Browns’ teams in 1965, 1968 and 1969, from (1951-1953).

However, unlike the later Browns, they bounced back to win NFL crowns in Otto Graham’s last two seasons in 1954 and 1955.

For the record the Browns’ NFL title game losses in 1968 and 1969 were in games that proceeded the Super Bowl. That franchise left Cleveland after the 1995 season and has won 2 Super Bowls as the Baltimore Ravens.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: