Skip to content

Sunday, Sunday, Sunday For 2015-2016 Championship Clinchers

June 18, 2016

No matter which team, the record breaking, defending NBA champion, 73 win Golden State Warriors or the 57 win Cleveland Cavaliers win the NBA title, tomorrow night, it will have been decided on a Sunday in a 7 game finals entity.

Of course the Super Bowl is contested on a Sunday and one has to go back to 1960, when Christmas fell on a Sunday so the NFL champion was determined on a Monday (the Philadelphia Eagles, in to date their last NFL title, handed Vince Lombardi and his Green Bay Packers their only post season loss) to find the last time the NFL champion was not determined on a Sunday.

However, the 2015-2016 major North American sports league champions will all be determined on a Sunday in an increasing number of games.

The Kansas City Royals clinched the World Series title in 5 games, winning the finale, at New York vs the Mets, in a Sunday night game that did go into Monday local time.

Just last week, the Pittsburgh Penguins clinched the Stanley Cup with a Sunday night win in game 6 at San Jose, vs the Sharks.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: