Skip to content

NHL Playoffs

April 9, 2012

The NHL playoffs begin this week with the Vancouver Canucks and the New York Rangers as the top seeds in each conference. Those teams met in the 1994 Finals with the Rangers winning in 7 games. That was the Rangers first title in 54 years. Vancouver, which lost another final in 7 games last year (that to the Boston Bruins, who won their first title in 39 years) are in their 41st season and are still seeking their first Stanley Cup Title.

By the way, their first season was 1970-1971 so this should be their 42nd season but unlike the NBA which is playing its second partial season, the NHL had no season in 2004-2005. No team from Canada has won the Stanley Cup since 1993 and only Vancouver and east 7 seed, Ottawa, among the seven Canadian teams made the playoffs this season. The Montreal Canadiens and Toronto Maple Leafs both failed to make the playoffs. The once mighty Canadiens, who won an incredible 15 titles in 24 seasons from (1956-1979) have won but two since then. Meanwhile Toronto has not won the Cup nor made the Finals since 1967, the last year before expansion.The Leafs have missed the playoffs for seven straight seasons.

Stanley Cup

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: