Skip to content

American Basketball Association Notes

April 27, 2022

In the American Basketball Association’s nine seasons, the Indiana Pacers (3) and then New York Nets (2) combined to win more than half of the league’s titles.

They and the Denver Nuggets, three of the four teams “absorbed” into the NBA, beginning with the ’76-’77 season, have never won an NBA crown.

Only the San Antonio Spurs, who have an impressive five, none in their first 22 seasons, among the four “absorbed” teams have won an NBA title.

Click below to view a nice piece narrated by Bob Devorshak about the ABA’s first title team, the Pittsburgh Pipers led by Connie Hawkins.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: