Skip to content

NHL Notes

August 26, 2020

All eight participants in the current NHL quarterfinal round have been to the final round, with only the Colorado Avalanche (they are down (2-0) to the Dallas Stars), not on a final round loss skein.

Only current “quarters” opponents, the Las Vegas Golden Knights (they are in just their third season and made the final round in their first season) and Vancouver Canucks, among the 8 have never won the title.

Vancouver, in its 49th to be completed season, is (0-3) in final round play. The Vancouver/Las Vegas series is tied at one game apiece, with “L.V.” still a big series favorite, but nowhere near as big, as before last night’s Vancouver series squaring victory.

In future posts more notes on the current final round loss streaks, of 7 of the 8 “quarters” entrants.


Mike Bossy 1978.JPG

The great player, Mike Bossy, was the Conn Smythe Trophy winner, when the Islanders won their third straight crown, sweeping the Vancouver Canucks in the 1982 final. 

Vancouver lost 7 game NHL final round series to the New York Rangers in ’94 and Boston Bruins in 2011.

It was the Rangers’ first title in 54 years while the ’11 triumph was the first for the Bruins in 39 years.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: