Skip to content

Baseball Expansion Team(s) Title Notes Cont’d

August 4, 2020

I will cite some of the expansion entities, each with two added teams, with none having the same number of World Series victories.

The first expansion, of the American League variety, brought in the new Washington Senators (the old ones, moved to Minnesota where they have clinched two, 7 game World Series victories) and the then Los Angeles, later California and now again L.A. but at Anaheim Angels.

Washington moved to Texas, becoming the Rangers in 1972 and though so close in 2011, have not won a title. The Angels won it all in 2002.

One more: Also in the A.L. the Kansas City Royals entered with the Seattle Pilots in 1969. Seattle played one season there and became the Milwaukee Brewers, now a National League team.

K.C. which has football crowns 50 years apart with the Chiefs, won baseball titles 30 years apart in ’85 and 2015 with the Royals. The Pilots/Brewers have never won a World Series.


Click above as the then new president, John F. Kennedy is shown throwing out the first ball in the new Washington Senators’ first game on April 10, 1961.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: