Skip to content

Comparative Notes Regarding The 1980-1983 New York Islanders

June 17, 2020

Only three teams in North American major sports league history have ever topped the New York Islanders’ four straight titles from (1980-1983).

The Boston Celtics won eight straight crowns (’59-’66), while the Montreal Canadiens (’56-’60) and New York Yankees (’49-’53) won 5 each.

Two other teams, both “above” franchises, the Yankees (’36-’39) and Canadiens (’76-’79) match the Isles, with 4 straight titles.

Those Islanders are in rare air indeed. They were truly dominant in semi-final and final round play in those 4 seasons, gaining at least three to one series advantages after four games, in all 8 such series, played in those 4 seasons.


Logo New York Islanders.svg


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: