Skip to content

Astros And Houston Repeat Title(s) Notes

June 20, 2018

Despite a loss vs Tampa Bay (Rays) yesterday, that ended a 12 game win skein, which included a (10-0) road trip, the world champion Houston Astros are viable contenders in a bid for a Houston repeat title.

Only the Rockets had ever before given Houston a major North American sports league crown, when the Astros gave the city another, with a 7 game World Series triumph, clinched in L.A. vs the Dodgers 33 Wednesdays ago, on November 1, 2017.

The Rockets repeated their ’94 NBA title with an unlikely one in ’95, winning all four ‘offs series sans home advantage.

In leagues no longer in existence, Houston teams twice repeated as champions.

The recently deceased Billy Cannon led the Houston Oilers, now the Tennessee Titans, to the first two A.F.L. crowns in ’60 and ’61.

In the defunct W.H.A. , the Houston Aeros with the great Gord Howe won back to back crowns in ’74 and ’75.

There is a long way to go, but maybe the Astros can win another repeat Houston title in ’18.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: