Skip to content

The Los Angeles Sparks Win The WNBA Crown

October 21, 2016

In a sensational game that capped a great 20th WNBA season, the second seed Los Angeles Sparks won their first title since 2002, with a (77-76) win at Minnesota, vs the defending champion and top seeded Lynx in the decisive 5th game of their WNBA finals series.

A basket by regular season MVP, Nneka Ogwumike with three seconds left were the last points of the WNBA season. Candace Parker scored 28 points and was named the MVP of the finals series.

The L.A. WNBA title came on the exact 28 year anniversary of the last Dodgers’ World Series win on October 20, 1988, also coming on a night the Cubs pivotal game 5 victory at L.A. made it unlikely, far from impossible that the Dodgers will end their title drought this season.

A word about the Lynx. They are a truly tremendous team that has three straight “odd year” titles and came so close to another one this season.





From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: