Skip to content

WNBA Title To Be Decided Tonight L.A. Sparks At Minnesota Lynx

October 20, 2016

Tonight in Minnesota, for the second straight season the WNBA title will be determined in a decisive game there. Last year, the Lynx prevailed to win a third straight “odd year” WNBA crown (2011, 2013 ,2015).

The Minnesota Lynx are 6 point favorites vs the Los Angeles Sparks as they bid for their fourth title in six seasons. the Sparks have not “titled” since ex Lakers’ great Michael Cooper coached them to consecutive WNBA crowns in 2001 and 2002.

Minneapolis was once the home of the Lakers, a team that won 5 NBA titles in 6 seasons (1949, 1950, and (1952-1954). In Los Angeles, the Lakers have won 11 NBA crowns.

There have been 8 previous “winner take all” WNBA finals games with the home team winning seven.

Speaking of 7, the Minnesota area has played in 5 “winner take all” game 7’s, all at home winning four.

The Lakers won such games in the 1952 and 1954 NBA Finals. Meanwhile the baseball Twins (11-1) in 12 World Series home games, won the title in a home game 7 in both 1987 and 1991. The only loss in a home World Series game for the Twins (0-9 as the Twins in World Series road games), was game 7 in 1965 when Sandy Koufax pitched the Dodgers to a (2-0) win and the ’65 title.

Now approximately 51 years and a week later also on a Thursday it is L.A. at Minnesota for a league crown and do not tell anyone but the Dodgers play a pivotal game 5 of a “semi-final” series at home tonight, as well.







From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: