Skip to content

Current “Title City” Notes, Part 1

August 3, 2016

3, 5, 7, (three prime numbers, i.e. only divisible by one or itself) and 15, which is divisible by 3 and 5 and one more than two, multiplied by 7.

Why these numbers? They represent the total major North American sports league titles won by the four cities, which currently hold such “crowns.”

Those cities are Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Denver,/Colorado and Kansas City. Some of the history will follow in a number of posts.

Pittsburgh, the home of the current NHL champion Penguins, has 15 titles. Six have been won by the NFL Steelers, all since 1974.

This was after nary a playoff win from the first possible one in 1933, until Franco Harris’ “Immaculate Reception” gave them their first playoff win in 1972. The first Supe crown followed 2 years later.

The Steelers won the NFL title/Super Bowl four times in six seasons from (1974-1979), winning consecutive “Supes” in 1974 and 1975 and then 1978 and 1979.




From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: