Skip to content

NHL Playoffs: Semi-Final Notes

May 13, 2016

No matter who wins each series in the NHL semi-finals, the finals will match a team that has never won the Stanley vs one that has won the esteemed trophy.

Neither Western Conference final participant, the St. Louis Blues nor San Jose Sharks has ever won the Stanley Cup.

For that matter, neither franchise has ever won a Stanley Cup finals game and in a combined 67 seasons (1971-2015, with no NHL season having been played in 2005) since the expansion division was not given an automatic Cup finals berth, neither team has qualified for the Stanley Cup finals.

In what should be a fine series, the Blues and Sharks begin Sunday night in St. Louis. The winner will meet either the Pittsburgh penguins, who notched Cup victories in 1991, 1992 and 2009 or the Tampa Bay Lightning, the 2004 Stanley Cup winners.

Their Eastern Conference final begins tonight and my “advice ,” mediocre here of late, is to take nice odds with the Lightning at the start of the series, as I believe they will win one of the first two games which will be played in Pittsburgh. After that, I have no real opinion which is just as well.

My best advice, real advice is to enjoy what may well be two excellent NHL semi-final series.



From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: