Skip to content

N.L. Central Notes

March 23, 2016

Of course with the presence of the Chicago Cubs in the N.L. Central its division members have the combined total number of years sans a World Series win.

Chicago’s North Side Cubs last won it all in 1908, the year William Howard Taft, later the first U.S. President to throw out a ceremonial first pitch and oh yes a Supreme Court Justice, was elected to the United States’ highest office.

Other N.L. Central teams, most notably the Pittsburgh Pirates and Milwaukee Brewers add to the years sans a World Series win.

Sister Sledge’s “We Are Family” was their team song and Willie “Pops” Stargell was their leader when Pittsburgh last won the W.S. back in 1979.

Meanwhile the Milwaukee Brewers formed as the Seattle Pilots in 1969 and moving to Milwaukee as the Brewers a year later, have never won a World Series.

The Cincinnati Reds last won it all in 1990, sweeping the Oakland Athletics. St.Louis last “titled” in 2011.



Oh the memories involving the great Willie Stargell! Alas I had the above baseball card, but as kids we did not sell them, we flipped them even “endangering” the cards by doing so, where my mother kept water under the radiator.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: